Follow us on:

Welcome to our newly reformatted website! Please feel free to contact us at for any questions, suggestions, or comments you may have.

logo of MN COLA


MN COLA is a volunteer organization with the mission of preserving, protecting and improving the waters and shorelands of the State of Minnesota through advocacy, education, and sharing of best practices.

We welcome new members as individuals; lake or river associations; coalitions, alliances, or associations of multiple lake, river, or property owner associations; watershed and lake improvement districts.

We stand ready to assist groups in any part of Minnesota who wish to form an association.

Our members are encouraged to bring issues to the attention of MN COLA for assistance and advocacy

Our goal is to have all lake associations in the state join MN COLA so that common interests and concerns can be more efficiently addressed. Please encourage your lake, river or watershed association to join MN COLA! Not a member but wish to be on our mailing list? Contact us at

The MN COLA community


President's Report of our latest meeting of the membership.

MN COLA Comment on Enbridge Line 3 "Replacement" DEIS: July, 2017 (Click on "Current Topics" ➸ "Issues").

Highlights of MN COLA Spending Survey on AIS by private sources and LGUs, and not including the funding from DNR or the State-to-County aid (Click on "Surveys" ➸ "Completed Surveys").

MN COLA Events

MN COLA Regular Meetings for 2018

Attendees: MN COLA Members and guests are welcome!

Date: January 16, 2018 - This will be a morning conference call to update our Grassroots Action Agenda

Location: Telephone call; call-in phone number will be sent out to members via email

Date: March 20, 2018

Host: Lake Marion Improvement Association

Location: Elks Lodge, 720 MN-7, Hutchinson, MN 55350

Date: June 19, 2018 - Annual meeting

Host: Whitefish Area Property Owners Association (WAPOA)

Location: Ideal Township Community Center, 35458 Butternut Point Road, Pequot Lakes, MN 56472

Time: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm

Special Topics:

•"A post-session Minnesota legislative update": Jeff Forester, MN Lakes and Rivers Advocates.

•"Insights on the White Bear Lake lawsuit against the DNR for excessive groundwater pumping": Katie Crosby Lehmann, Ciresi Conlin, Founding & Managing Partner.

•"Keep clean water clean for people and nature": Rich Biske, Natural Conservancy, Fresh Water Program Director.

•"You get What you ask for: effective action to make our voices heard on clean water" Matt Gladue, Nature Conservancy, Field Director.

•"MN COLA-developed County AIS metrics": Joe Shneider and Kevin Farnum, MN COLA.

•"An AIS video series for the summer of 2018": Erika Gilsdor, Leighton Broadcasting.

Date: September 18, 2018

Host: Bug-Bee Hive Resort with Paul Bugbee

Location: On Lake Koronis, 29659 Queen Bee Ln, Paynesville, MN 56362

Time: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm

Date: Sept. 25, 2018 - Lake Association-Government Interactions Workshop

Goals: The workshop is aimed at building additional community capacity by sharing information on local government responsibilities; by self-assessing your lake association's individual, relational, and organizational capacity; and by providing some practical tips for with working with your local and state agencies.

Cost: the event is free.

Organizer: Paul Radomski, Lake Ecologist, DNR

Sponsor: MN COLA is the proud sponsor of a workshop on building community capacity as related to lake associations and to coalitions of those associations.

Location: Douglas County Public Works Building, 526 Willow Dr, Alexandria, MN

Time: TBA

Attendees: Lake Association Members and Leaders; Coalition of Lake Association members


Dr. Amit Pradhananga, Research Associate, University of Minnesota

Dave Rush, Douglas County Land & Resource Management Director

Jeff Forester, Minnesota Lakes & River Advocates

Chris Pence, Board Conservationist, BWSR

Paul Radomski, Lake Ecologist, DNR

Kris Carlson, Decision Support Specialist, DNR

Please help support this event with your attendance.

If you're interested please RSVP to

Please forward to people that you think might be interested!

Date: December 11, 2018

Location: Initiative Foundation offices, 405 First St. S.E., Little Falls, MN. 56345.

Time: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm

autum reflection on lake
Photo, Carol Hoyem
lake and shore

MN COLA serves to coordinate the efforts of all lake, river, and watershed associations in Minnesota, related to shoreline preservation and restoration, water quality, prevention of aquatic invasive species (AIS), and sustainable uses and development for bodies of water in all counties, which include: Aitkin, Anoka, Becker, Beltrami, Benton, Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Carlton, Carver, Cass, Chippewa, Chisago, Clay, Clearwater, Cook, Cottonwood, Crow Wing, Dakota, Dodge, Douglas, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Grant, Hennepin, Houston, Hubbard, Isanti, Itasca, Jackson, Kanabec, Kandiyohi, Kittson, Koochiching, Lac Qui Parle, Lake, Lake Of The Wood, Le Sueur, Lincoln, Lyon, Mahnomen, Marshall, Martin, McLeod, Meeker, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Norman, Olmsted, Otter Tail, Pennington, Pine, Pipestone, Polk, Pope, Ramsey, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Rock, Roseau, St. Louis, Scott, Sherburne, Sibley, Stearns, Steele, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Traverse, Wabasha, Wadena, Waseca, Washington, Watonwan, Wilkin, Winona, Wright, and Yellow Medicine.

Not a member but wish to be on our email list? Tell us here.

Minnesota Coalition of Lake Associations

Web design, Curtiss Hunt; masthead photo, Kathyrn Jonsrud; footer photo, Amanda Weberg.